Posted by: cris | May 14, 2009

Land Planarians – dugho in cebuano

I took this picture sometime ago but since I got very busy  it is only now that I can post the pics of land planarians.  These flatworms, I learned, are called dugho in cebuano.  My brother in law told me that they  are hiding a prick somewhere in their tail and when they find their victim, this prick will suddenly come out and shoot a venomous juice  to the victim’s flesh. That’s how they prey on innocent earthworms.

land planarians

land planarians

DSC07153

Copyright (c) 2009 crisonthesidelines. All rights reserved. No portions of this site may be reproduced without explicit permission from the author or artist. For permission, please email: crisonthesidelines@gmail.com


Responses

  1. Hi Cristina,

    I am glad that I found your site and this article.

    I have recently found a few unusual flat worms in my bins. Since I was sure that they weren’t ANC, I immediately collected them in a clear plastic bottle and left the bottle under the sun.

    Thanks for your post, I now have a name for those unusual worms, land planarians.

    I wish you success with your vermiculture and other businesses.

    • thanks jon


Leave a Reply

Categories

