Posted by: cris | March 25, 2009

My emerging vermicomposting business – now submerged


It’s very disheartening to realize that just as my tiny business is taking off slowly, I’ve suffered another blow.

Before, my problems started with finding moles living within the garden eating their weight everyday by feasting on my worms. I also find toads every now and then. I sort of solved these two problems by covering the worm beds with metal screen. Although my worm population has largely decreased. I had ant infestation every now and then. They seem to transfer from one bed to another This is what I keep on believing that causes the continuous depletion on my worm population.

But today, while watering the bins, I found out that the ants transferred to another bin again. I checked the other bins and realized there are no more worms. Just few left in each bin. I was so enraged thinking that these ants depleted my worm population believing also that the reason they are already in this worm bed is because they’ve consumed all =worms in the other beds.

So, I decided to just harvest the worms and start all over again. I thought I will put them in a container and let them multiply again beginning with whatever was left. So I went on harvesting the worms. I found out that there were so many flat worms in the bin. I felt very sad that I wasn’t able to check this infestation. Considering the quantity of flat worms that I’ve harvested I would say, they are more than the African night crawler worms I was able to save.

Searching on the internet, I found out what these flat worms are. They are called land planarians. A post from http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/misc/land_planarians.htm called them nightmare worms. Its description says that land planarians (flat worms) devour earthworms and they are cannibalistic. Land planarians cause great harm to worm growers and that it was reported that land planarians are capable of eradicating entire worm population.

This is true in my case. If I will weigh the African night crawlers worms I’ve harvested today, they wont even reach half a kilo. This is really very sad and frustrating on my part. Just remembering those flatworms make me want to puke. Ahhhhhh . They look like miniature snakes. Tiny snakes which I hate very much. I hope I will feel better after tonight. Since I have no permission to post here sample pictures of land planarians from other websites, I will try to take a picture of them if I find more tomorrow.

Are you wondering what I did with them, I crushed the few I caught but the rest I grilled them by throwing in the fire.


Responses

  1. Hi !! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia


Leave a Reply

Categories

