Posted by: cris | July 16, 2008

The Malunggay Tree (Moringa Tree)

I grew up in Quezon City. Our regular leafy vegetables on the table were kangkong (swamp cabbage), ampalaya (bitter gourd) leaves, talbos ng kamote (sweet potato tops), and pechay (pak choi). I don’t remember eating malunggay (moringa). Maybe because it is not common in our place. Even if we live in rural Quezon City before, where life is really provincial, malunggay is not common.

Now that I have my own kids, I made sure that they eat plenty of malunggay. This is because of the many nutrients that we can get from it.

Do you know that…

1 cup of malunggay is. . . . . . . .

equal to 7x the Vitamin C in oranges

equal to 4x the calcium in milk

equal to 4x the Vitamin A in carrots

equal to 2x the protein in milk

equal to 3x the potassium in bananas

(information based on Tree for Life website)

It is just so sad that many Filipinos doesn’t know that. If only each Filipino home has at least 1 malunggay tree, and everytime a branch matures, they plant it again, in no time, they will have plenty of malunggay trees. Malungay can even thrive in half drums, in areas where there is no available soil to plant it. And for those who wanted to discard extra branches, they can even give it to others whom they think would benefit from it.

Although based on my experience, some people prefer to ask from others who were able to plant lots of malunggay instead of trying to grow the tree themselves. The reason they give is they just cant grow the plant. It eventually dies. The secret here, is to sacrifice for a while so that the malunggay tree would be able to establish good root system.

You must avoid shaking a young malunggay tree. If you must get its leaves, do not remove all. Leave the shoots and at least 2 sets of young fronds(?). This way, you give the tree a chance to regenerate.

I think a project like giving away planting materials of malunggay is a viable idea. The giver must make sure that the branch is planted. The only requirement is for the receiver to give away to another family one mature branch of malunggay tree. If that branch lives and matures, the second family gives another family a malunggay branch suited for planting. And it goes on and on. As simple as that. Remember the movie “Fast Forward”? I just copied the idea from that movie.


Responses

  1. thanks you help me a lot in my reasearch…….continue doing good things…..

    • I want Moringa bread. You told me how to make it, using flour. But, I suffer fro9m wheat intolerance (Soruie) and cannot use wheat in any form. Can you give me a recipe that uses corn flour, or bean flour? I have a Moringa Tree that is taking over the whole back yard! There are Humming Birds when the white flowers are present. There are dozens of seed pods that almost break the branches with their weight. I’m anxious to use Moringa; but I need the different recipe which will not have any wheat flour or Gluten!

      Thank you. I will wait some advice!

      Ken Mc-T

      • Ken Mc-T

        I haven’t done any experiment using other flours. Here in the Philippines, we have sweet potato flour, casssava, etc. If I find any article on this, I will ask the writer permission to re-blog it so others can learn also. thanks

      • hi Ken,

        so you’re on gluten free diet and you want to enjoy moringa in your baked foods. I haven’t tried any flour yet aside from wheat. Although there are a lot of different flours available here, sweet potato, cassava, arrowroot, rice, etc., I did not experimented on them yet.

        Actually, I think I have the same intolerance with wheat. That’s why I have started to eat as much cooked vegetable as possible and increased my raw food (fruits and veggies) intake.

        I am starting to realize that even my mood is affected by eating gluten, sugar based food,

        Will post here if ever I can come out with any gluten free recipe

  2. Its like a gold mine site, its very informative, i very much appreciated your unselfish ideas. Im in construction business before, but due to our economic situation i decided to work here abroad.
    Im an ofw here in jeddah ksa im looking for alternative source of income while im here in middle east. Its good ive found your site today.
    thanks a lot, thanks to your unparallel concerned in other people. I love agribusiness because im a former farmer while im studying engineering in manila. thanks again, hope you can help me in the future…..

  3. teng,

    thanks for the kind words. by all means if i can help you, just let me know.

    cris


Leave a Reply

Categories

